Friday, August 28, 2015

Review Time #83

Trouble From The Start by Rachel Hawthorne

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can’t seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn’t bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster? 

Trouble from the Start releases simultaneously with companion novel The Boyfriend Project. These heartwarming paperback originals are the perfect summer reads, great for fans of Jennifer Echols, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti.

Trouble from the start,  is a companion novel to The boyfriend project (which I haven't read) and it follows Avery, the classic good girl, and Fletcher, the classic bad boy. 

Avery's father is a cop and every summer he fosters an at-risk kid or in this summers case; Fletcher. After a party the previous night where Avery drank a bit too much because she realised that all throughout high school she didn't really do what everyone else did, the occasional party and a boyfriend wasn't on her list of priorities. Getting a ride home on the back of Fletcher's bike wasn't something that she would normally do (also why let a drunk girl on the back of a bike?) and it may of totally ruined her reputation at school (honestly who cares about this you have a week of school left and will never see most of these people again!?!?!).

Turns out Fletcher isn't all that bad and makes sure everyone knows what really happened that night. After an incident which Avery handles (because she is kinda badass and her dad is also a cop) Fletcher (who was on his way to help out) kind of ends up hanging out with Avery, Kendall and Jeremy.

As summer goes on so does the flirting between Avery and Fletcher until they finally give in, it's cute. The relationship between these two is cute and fun just like a first love should be. I enjoyed that they were friends at first and there was no insta-love because 9/10 that doesn't happen!

The ending was a bit fast paced with a few loose ends coming together and working out what they each want to now that summer is over with colleges which is what every person who finishes high school is like! I really enjoyed the story while it was slightly predicable and eye-rolling at places it was an enjoyable contemporary novel and those who love Jennifer Echols and Kasie West like me will really enjoy it!

Thank you very much for Harper Collins for sending this copy my way!
You can buy Trouble from the start from bookworld, booktopia, dymocks, amazon!

Rating: 4/5


No comments:

Post a Comment